It’s Official

I am going to London! Hubby and I have asked for the time off work and started planning our trip for the second week of August. We are ecstatic!

We got our passports a few years back when we planned a ski trip to Canada, but due to hubby’s hectic work schedule back then at his old job, we were forced to cancel it.

I have dreamed of travelling to England since I was a wee child. It grew especially once I fell in love with English Literature from previctorian era in college. It’s my dream to love there on a permanent basis, but I do not know how probable that actually is.

I’ve received tips from some fellow Twitter peeps, and we have a game plan now. More to come on this awesome development as it unfolds.

Comment Questions
1. Where have you always wanted to travel there?
2. Anything that’s a must see in London?
3. Do you think a day trip to Cardiff just for the Doctor Who museum is worth it?

7 thoughts on “It’s Official

  1. Glad to hear you’re coming to visit across the Pond! I used to live in London so I can give you some pretty specific advice if you need it, like traveling around, money, that sort of thing.

    As to what is must-see, it depends on how much time you have. If you want to do the Doctor Who thing in Cardiff, that’s realistically either a very long day trip or an overnight stay in Cardiff, which is worth a visit in itself. Walking around people speaking Welsh is a wonderful thing!

    What I would suggest is other places that are possible to visit in a day, not necessarily in London. For example, Bath is a beautiful city with an interesting Roman history as well as being the home of Jane Austen for a time. Bath is a reasonably short train ride from London and worth a look.

    In London itself, I always recommend a trip to Greenwich, which houses the Royal Observatory, the Greenwich Meridian Line (GMT), timepieces made by John Harrison (for accurately measuring longitude at sea) and the old Royal Naval College, which is a beautiful thing. In August the weather is usually fine enough to have picnic on Greenwich Green.

    Anyway, I could fill several pages of things, but it’s probably better if you fire me some questions based on your available time and so on.

    • Love all the suggestions! Taking a day to visit Bath would be something I want to go see and do. I’ll come up with a questionaire for you soon. Lol.

  2. That’s so exciting! I loved London! As an art and history lover, I would highly recommend the British museum and the Victoria and Albert museum, both of which are free and HUGE! I also enjoyed the Tower of London, St Pauls Cathedral and Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre! There is just far too much to see ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you have an amazing time!

    • I heard that the Tower of London and dungeon tours are fantastic. The Globe is definitely something I’m interested in seeing. Thank you for the well wishes!

    • Luckily for visitors and natives alike, all museums are free to enter, but there are some charges for special exhibits. I usually hesitate to recommend the museums because they need a good chunk of time to see properly, but the BM is an excellent choice if I had to pick one.

      • Yeah, there are often exhibition fees but I find there is more than enough to look at for free, especially if you’re just there for the day. I’m a bit of a history lover so I suppose that’s why I make sure there’s time for a museum or two ๐Ÿ™‚ Still, I agree it’s best to reserve a good chunk of time for them!

Leave a Reply

