Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

sharp-objects-book-cover

****This review contains spoilers.****

After reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, I decided to pick up this novel by her as well.

While I enjoyed the pace of it and throughout the entire book, it was a serious page-turner. I wanted to keep going after every chapter and could have read it in one sitting if I did not have work in the morning.

**Spoiler Alert**

That being said, I am ultimately not as happy with this book as I wanted to be with it. I figured out the killer/s half way through the book. I was obvious to me especially with the clues presented but the protagonist refused to see them as such. It made me quite frustrated with here. I also am mad that I do not know what she carved at Curry’s house in the end. Nothing seemed to come out of the ending of the book except for everyone in the family being locked up for good most likely. I also knew from nearly the beginning descriptions of the mother’s relationship with Marian and the other kids that she had Munchhausen by proxy. In addition, how did Camille not know what that is? Everyone who has seen the Sixth Sense should know because that is how the creepy girl under the bed died. In contrast to that, the hiding spot for the teeth was pure genius.

**End of Spoiler Alert**

Overall, I am disappointed in this book for not being better. That may sound weird, but I do not think it lived up to it’s potential. It was a quick read, and I might even recommend it because it definitely is a good story that is well written, and it ties together well in the end. I’d give this book 3 out of 5 stars if I did that sort of thing.

Comment Questions:

  1. When reading books that deal with murders, are you disappointed at the end when the killer is who you suspected all along? Or do you even try to figure it out?
  2. What do you do when you love one book by an author but another is “meh” by them? Do you try a third before giving up or stop then?
  3. Do you have any books that you have tried to review but ended up ranting like I just did?
One thought on “Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

  1. Thanks for marking the spoiler so clearly–I was able to skip over it! 🙂 Like you, I can usually tell “who done it” and love a book that surprises me. Gone Girl did that; I’m sad to hear this one doesn’t measure up as well (but I’ll have to read and find out why!) as GG.

Leave a Reply

