Missing the Blog

So, as you might have noticed, I have not been blogging for many months now. Some of you may not know this, but I have major depressive disorder. I quit blogging regularly because I could not handle it. I tried switching medications, and it only made things worse for a long while. I fell deeper into depression, and blogging was the last thing on my mind as I struggled to get out of bed in the morning or even shower.

After visiting a new psychiatrist and starting a different medication, I have started to feel a bit better. I actually started to miss blogging and the constant connection it gave me to people who were perhaps like me or going through the same things. While I do not think I will be ever cured of depression which might mean that this blog will never be more than it is, I am actually attempting to set time aside each week to work on posts and updates to this blog.

While I am starting to get busy at work, I know that blogging doesn’t feel like work. It is a stress reliever for me, and I hope to visit it more often. I want to keep in contact with other bloggers and form real albeit online relationships with them.

I have lots of new ideas for posts, and I am trying to interact with more blogs to form new relationships with bloggers. I am hopeful for the first time in a long time, and not only for the blog but for me as well. I can see this new chapter in my life growing into a favorite one. 🙂 Okay, so maybe that was cornier than I wanted it to sound. Eh, it happens.

Feel free to ask me any questions about my time away. I enjoy talking about my depression because I think that it is still a taboo topic in our society. Mental illness is perceived as a weakness or flaw of character in our society, and I want to talk about it and change that because it is through no doing of my own. My brain chemistry does not work as it is supposed to do so. Disagree? Let’s talk about it.

On a lighter note, I have started reading again for the first time since this depression cycle started, and I hope to post a review later in the week on a book I’ve finished.

Questions for the comments:

  • Have you had any similar issues with blogging? How did you resolve it?
  • Do you think I should post more about this sort of thing? More personal?
  • Is it time for more tea posts? Or book posts?
2 thoughts on “Missing the Blog

  1. I appreciate this post. Mental illness is most definitely taboo, which is so sad. I know more people who battle depression and anxiety and bi-polar disorder then those who don’t battle mental illness at all. Why should we keep quiet about this? I also think that if you enjoy writing personal posts, you ought to. I know as a reader, I enjoy reading them, I enjoy getting to know the blogger. Of course, I’m also a sucker for books and tea, so I’ll eagerly await for those posts too 🙂

    I fall in to blogging slumps every once in a while for an array of reasons. Usually I allow myself some time away from the interwebs, my feed reader, and various social media outlets because I don’t want to create some arbitrary pressure about having to create something. Usually by the end of my break, I start to feel creative, and end up brainstorming a lot so that I’m prepared to create posts when I feel…well, ready to create posts!

    • Thank you for the encouragement! In the last few years, three of my closest friends have also been diagnosed with either depression, anxiety, or bipolar disorder. It seems to be an epidemic that no one talks about. 1 out of 4 adults have a mental disorder, but in my friend group it’s 4 out of 4. lol. Birds of feather do flock together I guess.

      I’m so excited to get back into blogging. I’m trying to get the app to download on my phone in case I have a great blog idea at work – I could jot down a quick draft.

Leave a Reply

