Azkaban

As much of a shock as it might be, I am currently reading my way through the Harry Potter series for the first time ever. I wasn’t big into reading when they came out, and I never really saw the point in them; however, my husband recently convinced me to give them a try.

While the first book seemed to be clearly written for children, the subsequent ones weren’t so condescending. I have recently finished reading the third book.

“Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” by J. K. Rowling

I want to say that the second book has been my favorite thus far. The first book I found a bit too condescending, but then again, I, as a twenty-four year old woman with no kids, was not the original intended audience.

This book was a bit stale for me. I hated reading about the Divination classes. I don’t know if it was the author’s intention or not, but I felt that I hated the teacher as much as Hermione did. I was also relieved when that class was over. Other than that, the book was well paced, and for the first time, I actually didn’t feel horrible at the end of the book because Harry had to go back home to the Dursleys. I thought this one had the best ending so far.

A slight disclaimer: While I have never read the books before, I have seen every film, so I know the basic premise of each book going in, but it is still surprising when things happen because books are usually better than their films.

One thing I hated about the beginning of this book and the second book were how they both started with so much recapping. I get it. I know who he lives with. I know their address. I know he’s a wizard. I know the back story. I did just read two other books about this kid. Now, I understand why it was done because I think each of these books could be read on their own and one would have a complete understanding of what was going on, but I seriously hope this does not continue to happen through the rest of the series.

I felt that the second half of this book was much stronger than the first half of it.

Overall, I liked the book. It wasn’t a favorite, but so far, I would give the series another read a few years down the road. The author is a good storyteller, and it’s entertaining albeit sometimes still condescending.

One thought on “Azkaban

  1. aspenlinmer says:

    Welcome to the World of Harry Potter. You’re going to love the books. I didn’t read them until i was well into adulthood either and personally I think they become their best in books 4 and 5 (6 and 7 are also very, very good).

    I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

    ~Aspen

Leave a Reply

